Expert Guide

The Best Free AI Image Upscalers in 2026: What the Free Plans Allow

Seven upscalers compared on their free allowance, the largest free scale, the watermark rule and the cheapest paid plan in dollars, as each vendor prints it.

Product links may be affiliate links. How we rate 7 tools compared
TL;DR

Short answer: Upscayl is the best free AI image upscaler if you have a computer to run it on, because its site calls it free and open source and prints no monthly quota. On the web, Bigjpg has the clearest free allowance: 20 pictures a month, up to 4x. If you want a paid web plan, Let's Enhance Starter is $9 a month on annual billing, checked on its pricing page in October 2026.

Free plans differ on three things: the monthly allowance, the largest scale they give you for free, and whether the output carries a watermark. Let's Enhance says free downloads carry a watermark that paid plans remove, and VanceAI promises clean downloads only in its paid section.

Key facts7 tools compared: Upscayl, Real-ESRGAN, Bigjpg, Let's Enhance, VanceAI, Fotor, Topaz Gigapixel
  • Updated: October 12, 2026
  • Top pick: Upscayl (best for: Anyone who wants a free upscaler on their own computer and no monthly cap printed on the site)
  • Top pick price as of October 12, 2026: Upscayl: Free and open source (AGPL-3.0). No paid tier or monthly quota printed on the site.
  • 7 tools compared: Upscayl, Real-ESRGAN, Bigjpg, Let's Enhance, VanceAI, Fotor, Topaz Gigapixel
  • Real-ESRGAN (best for: Developers and technical users who want an open-source model they can script for batch jobs): Free under BSD-3-Clause. You run the code yourself, and Colab and Replicate demos are linked on the project page.
  • Bigjpg (best for: Small shops and hobbyists who need a few enlargements a month and want a web tool with no install): Free: 20 pictures a month up to 4x. Basic $6 (500 a month, two months), Standard $12 (1,000 a month, six months).
  • Let's Enhance (best for: Designers and e-commerce sellers who want a web upscaler with a monthly credit plan and no install): Free with 10 credits at sign-up. Starter $9, Pro $24 and Max $34 a month, billed annually.

A free AI image upscaler enlarges a small photo and fills in detail the original never had. Most of them give you a free taste and ask for money once you outgrow it, and the wall sits in a different place on every tool. The seven tools below are the ones whose free terms we could read on the vendor's own page in October 2026.

Each entry says what the free tier allows, not only that a free tier exists.

Toolradar data: Toolradar files Upscayl and Let's Enhance under Image Editing and lists at least six alternatives for Upscayl and at least seven for Let's Enhance, with pricing checked on October 6 and October 2, 2026.

We left out several names whose pages did not state their free-tier terms or priced only in another currency.

Top Picks

Based on features, real-world fit, and value for money.

Best Free AI Image Upscalers in 2026: Limits Compared: 7 tools compared, updated Oct 2026
ToolPricingBest for
UpscaylFree and open source (AGPL-3.0). No paid tier or monthly quota printed on the site.Anyone who wants a free upscaler on their own computer and no monthly cap printed on the site.
Real-ESRGANFree under BSD-3-Clause. You run the code yourself, and Colab and Replicate demos are linked on the project page.Developers and technical users who want an open-source model they can script for batch jobs.
BigjpgFree: 20 pictures a month up to 4x. Basic $6 (500 a month, two months), Standard $12 (1,000 a month, six months).Small shops and hobbyists who need a few enlargements a month and want a web tool with no install.
Let's EnhanceFree with 10 credits at sign-up. Starter $9, Pro $24 and Max $34 a month, billed annually.Designers and e-commerce sellers who want a web upscaler with a monthly credit plan and no install.
VanceAITry free with 10 credits. Starter $15 a month or $180 a year for 260 credits. Desktop app $39.90 a month.Users who want both a web tool and a Windows desktop app, priced by a credit allowance.
FotorFree 2x downloads. 4x needs a Fotor membership, and the upscaler page prints no dollar price.Casual users who need a free 2x enlargement now and can pay later if 4x becomes necessary.
Topaz GigapixelNo free plan or trial printed. Personal $149 a year billed annually; Pro $499 a year billed annually.Photographers and print shops who need large enlargements and will pay for a dedicated tool.

Pricing read from each vendor's own published pricing page, checked Oct 2026. Every vendor here publishes a price.

Best for: Anyone who wants a free upscaler on their own computer and no monthly cap printed on the site.

PricingFree and open source (AGPL-3.0). No paid tier or monthly quota printed on the site.

+The site says it is free, and the GitHub repository is licensed under AGPL-3.0 with no paid tier listed.
+Upscaling up to 16x is on the vendor's page, against 4x on Bigjpg's free plan.
+You download it once and keep it, so a batch costs nothing beyond your own computer time.
−The site prints no monthly allowance, watermark rule or commercial-use terms, so check the license before client work.
−Being a desktop install, it does not help on a phone or on a shared machine where you cannot install apps.
Visit Upscayl →

Best for: Developers and technical users who want an open-source model they can script for batch jobs.

PricingFree under BSD-3-Clause. You run the code yourself, and Colab and Replicate demos are linked on the project page.

+BSD-3-Clause is a permissive license, so the code can be used and modified under its terms without a fee.
+The project page links a Colab demo and a Replicate demo, so you can test an image before installing anything.
+The repository lists no subscription, credit or paid tier.
−You set it up yourself: the repository is a code project, not a finished app for everyday users.
−Nothing on the project page says what the hosted demos allow, so do not plan a batch around them.
Visit Real-ESRGAN →
3

Best for: Small shops and hobbyists who need a few enlargements a month and want a web tool with no install.

PricingFree: 20 pictures a month up to 4x. Basic $6 (500 a month, two months), Standard $12 (1,000 a month, six months).

+The free plan states its limits in plain numbers: 20 pictures a month, up to 4x, uploads up to 5MB.
+Paid packages put the monthly picture count beside the price, so you can compare them at a glance.
+The free plan prints its input limit as 3000x3000 px, so you know the file size before you start.
−Free output stops at 4x, while the paid packages go up to 16x.
−The page does not say whether free pictures carry a watermark or what commercial terms apply.
Visit Bigjpg →

Best for: Designers and e-commerce sellers who want a web upscaler with a monthly credit plan and no install.

PricingFree with 10 credits at sign-up. Starter $9, Pro $24 and Max $34 a month, billed annually.

+Starter is the entry plan at $9 a month on annual billing, or $108 a year.
+Free output goes up to 8 MP, with input files up to 24 MP or 50MB, as printed on the pricing page.
+Monthly billing is higher: $12 on Starter and $32 on Pro, so the annual discount is easy to see.
−Free downloads carry a watermark that paid plans remove, so a free test image is not client-ready.
−The pricing page does not say how many credits one upscale costs, so a batch cannot be priced in advance.
Visit Let's Enhance →

Best for: Users who want both a web tool and a Windows desktop app, priced by a credit allowance.

PricingTry free with 10 credits. Starter $15 a month or $180 a year for 260 credits. Desktop app $39.90 a month.

+The pricing page prints the credit cost of each zoom level, so a batch can be priced in advance.
+The Windows desktop plans process files locally, with a one-year option at $99.90 as well as the monthly one.
+Paid downloads come without watermarks, as the page states.
−The free allowance is 10 credits to try, and no monthly free quota is printed.
−The page does not say whether free downloads carry a watermark, so check one output before relying on it.
Visit VanceAI →
6

Best for: Casual users who need a free 2x enlargement now and can pay later if 4x becomes necessary.

PricingFree 2x downloads. 4x needs a Fotor membership, and the upscaler page prints no dollar price.

+2x downloads are free, which covers small web images at no cost.
+The upscaler page says enlarged images come without added watermarks.
+The membership route is clear: 4x downloads sit behind a paid plan on the same site.
−The upscaler page prints no dollar price and no free quota, so the free allowance cannot be measured from it.
−It does not state whether the free plan allows commercial use.
Visit Fotor →

Best for: Photographers and print shops who need large enlargements and will pay for a dedicated tool.

PricingNo free plan or trial printed. Personal $149 a year billed annually; Pro $499 a year billed annually.

+At $149 a year, Personal costs $41 more than Let's Enhance Starter at $108 a year on annual billing.
+The page offers annual and monthly billing, so you can pick the commitment that fits your budget.
+Pro costs $499 a year billed annually, the higher of the two tiers the page prints.
−Monthly billing costs more: Personal is $19 a month on a 12-month commitment, which comes to $228 a year.
−The page prints no free plan and no trial, so you cannot test the output before paying.
Visit Topaz Gigapixel →

What it is

An AI image upscaler increases the pixel size of a photo and invents plausible detail with a trained model. The free versions cap different things. Some limit the number of pictures a month, some stop at 2x or 4x, and some limit the size or the pixel count of the input.

Upscayl works differently because it is a desktop app and its site prints no quota at all.

If you generate pictures rather than enlarge them, our guide to free AI image generators covers the free plans on that side, and our background remover guide covers the cleanup you often do before an upscale.

Why it matters

A free plan decides whether an upscaler fits your work before you pay anything. A cap of 20 pictures a month is enough for a small catalog refresh and nothing more. Product photographers hit this first, and our product photography tools guide covers the shoot itself.

Pick the tool by the volume you actually process, not by the gallery on the homepage.

Scale limits matter as much. Bigjpg's free plan stops at 4x, while Upscayl's site promises upscaling up to 16x and Bigjpg's paid packages reach 16x too.

Check the scale you need for print before you run a batch on a free tier. Our best AI image generators guide covers the generation side of the same workflow.

Key features to look for

Allowance type
Bigjpg counts pictures per month (20 free), Let's Enhance gives 10 credits at sign-up and VanceAI gives 10 credits to try. A monthly picture cap is easy to plan around, while one-time credits are a trial, not a monthly quota.
Scale on the free plan
Bigjpg's free plan goes to 4x and Fotor's free downloads go to 2x, with 4x behind a membership. Upscayl's site promises up to 16x without naming a plan that unlocks it.
Watermarks
Let's Enhance says free downloads carry a watermark that paid plans remove, VanceAI promises clean downloads on paid plans, and Fotor says its enlarged images come without added watermarks. Upscayl and Bigjpg do not mention watermarks on their pages, so test one output before you rely on any of them.
Credits per upscale
VanceAI prints its cost per zoom level: 1 credit for 2x, 2 for 4x and 3 for 8x. Let's Enhance's pricing page does not say how many credits one upscale uses, so a batch cannot be priced from that page alone.
Desktop or web
Upscayl is a desktop app, and VanceAI sells a Windows app that processes files locally. Bigjpg, Let's Enhance and Fotor are web tools, and Real-ESRGAN is code you run yourself.

Pricing

Every price here is the dollar figure the vendor's own pricing or product page printed in October 2026: Bigjpg, Let's Enhance pricing, VanceAI pricing, Topaz Gigapixel, Fotor's upscaler page, Upscayl and Real-ESRGAN on GitHub.

Let's Enhance and Topaz bill annually at a lower monthly rate, so the table shows both figures wherever the page does.

Methodology: we read each vendor's own pricing or product page, recorded the free allowance, the largest free scale, the watermark rule and the cheapest paid tier, and listed only what the page states.

We did not run the tools on test images, so this page makes no quality claim. Toolradar's counts come from its own listing pages.

PlanPriceBest for
UpscaylFreeOpen source under AGPL-3.0, runs on your own computer, no quota printed
Real-ESRGANFreeBSD-3-Clause code you run yourself, with linked Colab and Replicate demos
Bigjpg freeFree20 pictures a month, up to 4x, uploads up to 5MB
Bigjpg Basic$6500 pictures a month on a two-month term, up to 16x and 50MB uploads
Let's Enhance freeFree10 credits at sign-up, free output up to 8 MP, watermark on downloads
Let's Enhance Starter$9 a month, billed annually100 credits a month, or $12 a month on monthly billing
Let's Enhance Pro$24 a month, billed annually300 credits a month, or $32 a month on monthly billing
VanceAI freeFree10 credits to try, with no monthly free quota printed
VanceAI Starter$15 a month or $180 a year260 credits a month (200 plus 60 bonus)
Fotor freeFree2x downloads, with 4x behind a membership
Topaz Gigapixel Personal$149 a year, billed annuallyMonthly option: $19 a month on a 12-month commitment
Topaz Gigapixel Pro$499 a year, billed annuallyMonthly option: $54 a month on a 12-month commitment
Mistakes to avoid
×Judging a free plan by its demo gallery instead of its monthly allowance. A sharp demo says nothing about how many pictures you can process before the cap.
×Enlarging a small file to 8x or 16x for print and expecting detail to appear. A large enlargement adds guessed detail, not information from the original.
×Putting a free output into a client deliverable without checking the watermark and the license first. Three tools here state a watermark rule, and most say nothing about commercial use.
×Comparing Let's Enhance's monthly price with Topaz's annual price. Put both on the same billing basis before you decide.
×Buying an annual plan before testing the output. Upscayl and Bigjpg's free allowance let you check your own photos first.
Expert tips
→Start with the free tier that matches your volume: Bigjpg for 20 pictures a month on the web, Upscayl for more on your own computer.
→Run one image through the free plan at the scale you need, then check the watermark and the file size before you commit.
→For a batch, use VanceAI's credit table to price it: 2x costs 1 credit, 4x costs 2 and 8x costs 3.
→Keep the original file. AI upscalers add detail the source never had, so the original is the version you can trust.

The bottom line

For a free desktop option with no printed quota, start with Upscayl. For a web tool with the clearest free allowance, try Bigjpg with its 20 pictures a month up to 4x.

If you need a paid web plan, Let's Enhance Starter is the entry paid tier on its pricing page, so start the price comparison there.

Cite this: Aipresso, "Best Free AI Image Upscalers in 2026: Limits Compared", October 2026.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best free AI image upscaler in 2026?
Upscayl, if you can run a desktop app. Its site calls it free and open source and prints no monthly quota. On the web, Bigjpg gives 20 free pictures a month up to 4x, the clearest free allowance we could read.
Is there a free AI image upscaler with no watermark?
Fotor's upscaler page says enlarged images come without added watermarks, but its free downloads stop at 2x. Let's Enhance says free downloads carry a watermark that paid plans remove. Upscayl and Bigjpg do not mention watermarks on their pages, so test one output before you rely on any free tier.
How much does Topaz Gigapixel cost?
Topaz's pricing page prints Personal at $149 a year billed annually, or $19 a month on a 12-month monthly commitment. Pro is $499 a year billed annually. The page prints no free plan or trial.
Can I use free upscaled images for client work?
The free pages we read do not state commercial-use terms for upscaled output. Read the terms of the tool you used before you invoice a client, because a software license covers the code and may not settle the rights to the output.
Is Let's Enhance cheaper than Topaz Gigapixel?
On annual billing, yes. Let's Enhance Starter is $108 a year, which is $41 less than Topaz Personal. Let's Enhance also gives 100 credits a month, while Topaz's page prints no free plan.
Does Fotor's upscaler cost anything?
The free plan downloads 2x upscales. The page says 4x downloads need a Fotor membership, and neither the upscaler page nor the pricing page prints a dollar price for that membership, so the cost is not quoted here.
Related guides

Some offers on this page may be paid placements or contain affiliate links.

Get the AIpresso brief

Free daily newsletter, read in 5 minutes.

Subscribe free