Expert Guide

Best Free AI Tools for Teachers in 2026: Free Plan Limits and Paid Prices Compared

Seven AI tools built for classroom work, compared on the free-plan limits each vendor publishes and what the first paid step costs.

Product links may be affiliate links. How we rate 7 tools compared
TL;DR

TeacherMatic publishes the most free output: 15 generations a day in its first week, then 5 a day, about 150 a month. Edcafe AI gives 100 generations a month on a free plan that says it stays free. MagicSchool AI has the most tools on a free plan here, with 80+ teacher tools, but it publishes no cap.

Only Edcafe and TeacherMatic publish a generation count on the free plan. Khanmigo for Teachers and Brisk Teaching are free for teachers with no cap stated. SchoolAI's free option is a trial with five Space launches a year, not a plan.

Key facts7 tools compared: TeacherMatic, Edcafe AI, MagicSchool AI, Khanmigo for Teachers, Brisk…
  • Updated: October 15, 2026
  • Top pick: TeacherMatic (best for: Teachers who want the most published free output and can plan their week around a daily cap)
  • Top pick price as of October 15, 2026: TeacherMatic: Free: 15 generations a day in week one, then 5 a day. Professional £6.99/mo or £69/yr (pounds on the page).
  • 7 tools compared: TeacherMatic, Edcafe AI, MagicSchool AI, Khanmigo for Teachers, Brisk Teaching, Curipod, SchoolAI
  • Edcafe AI (best for: Teachers who write quizzes, assignments and classroom chatbots and want a clear monthly count): Free forever: 100 generations a month. Pro $7.99/mo billed annually; Premium $14.99/mo billed annually.
  • MagicSchool AI (best for: Teachers who want the largest library of lesson, quiz and feedback tools before paying for unlimited use): Forever Free: 80+ teacher tools, cap not published. Plus $8.33/user/mo billed annually or $12.99 monthly.
  • Khanmigo for Teachers (best for: Teachers who want lesson planning, rubrics and exit tickets tied to Khan Academy content, at no cost): Free for teachers, no cap published. Learners and families $4/mo or $44/yr. Districts: request pricing.

Toolradar data: We evaluated 250 education and learning tools for our October 2026 ranking, and 5 of the 10 we list have a free plan. A free tier is common in this category, but the limit on it is what decides whether a tool fits a teacher's week.

This list narrows the field to seven AI tools built for teaching, each with a free plan or trial whose terms are stated on the vendor's own pricing page.

AIpresso's readers are professionals, founders, marketers and builders, so this page is written for the teacher who also checks AI tools for a school budget.

Top Picks

Based on features, real-world fit, and value for money.

#1 Top pick

TeacherMatic

The most generations a free plan publishes: 5 a day after week one, about 150 a month, with PDF, DOCX and Google Docs export.

Pricing

Free: 15 generations a day in week one, then 5 a day. Professional £6.99/mo or £69/yr (pounds on the page).

Best for

Teachers who want the most published free output and can plan their week around a daily cap.

#2

Edcafe AI

100 monthly generations on a free plan that says it stays free, with 3 custom chatbots and 3 assignment graders.

Pricing

Free forever: 100 generations a month. Pro $7.99/mo billed annually; Premium $14.99/mo billed annually.

Best for

Teachers who write quizzes, assignments and classroom chatbots and want a clear monthly count.

#3

MagicSchool AI

The most tools on a free plan in this list, with unlimited generations only once you pay for Plus.

Pricing

Forever Free: 80+ teacher tools, cap not published. Plus $8.33/user/mo billed annually or $12.99 monthly.

Best for

Teachers who want the largest library of lesson, quiz and feedback tools before paying for unlimited use.

Best Free AI Tools for Teachers in 2026: Free Plan Limits and Paid Prices Compared: 7 tools compared, updated Oct 2026
ToolPricingBest for
TeacherMaticFree: 15 generations a day in week one, then 5 a day. Professional £6.99/mo or £69/yr (pounds on the page).Teachers who want the most published free output and can plan their week around a daily cap.
Edcafe AIFree forever: 100 generations a month. Pro $7.99/mo billed annually; Premium $14.99/mo billed annually.Teachers who write quizzes, assignments and classroom chatbots and want a clear monthly count.
MagicSchool AIForever Free: 80+ teacher tools, cap not published. Plus $8.33/user/mo billed annually or $12.99 monthly.Teachers who want the largest library of lesson, quiz and feedback tools before paying for unlimited use.
Khanmigo for TeachersFree for teachers, no cap published. Learners and families $4/mo or $44/yr. Districts: request pricing.Teachers who want lesson planning, rubrics and exit tickets tied to Khan Academy content, at no cost.
Brisk TeachingFree for teachers: 20+ tools on standard models. Premium lists 35+ tools and Turbo models, with no price shown.Teachers who draft in Google Docs or Slides and want feedback tools on student work.
CuripodFree for every teacher: $0 a month, unlimited student writers, weekly live sessions. Districts: custom pricing.ELA, social studies and science teachers who want weekly student writing practice with instant feedback.
SchoolAIFree trial: 5 Space launches a year, 10 MB uploads. Pro: no price on the page, demo required.Teachers testing AI Spaces with one class before a school decision. It is a trial, not a permanent free plan.

Pricing read from each vendor's own pricing page, checked Oct 2026. 1 of 7 has no standalone price (bundled, usage-based or free to self-host) and is described as charged, not guessed. 3 of 7 publish prices for some plans and quote the rest.

Lowest published monthly price by toolBar chart of the lowest monthly price each vendor publishes; the same figures are in the comparison table above.Lowest published monthly priceEdcafe AI$7.99MagicSchool AI$8.33Khanmigo for Teachers$4
Lowest monthly figure each vendor publishes, checked Oct 2026. A tilde marks a figure the vendor states approximately. Per-seat and usage charges can sit on top of it. 4 of 7 do not publish a comparable monthly price and are left out rather than estimated.
1 TeacherMatic logo
Top Pick

TeacherMatic

The most generations a free plan publishes: 5 a day after week one, about 150 a month, with PDF, DOCX and Google Docs export.

Pricing
Free: 15 generations a day in week one, then 5 a day. Professional £6.99/mo or £69/yr (pounds on the page).

Best for: Teachers who want the most published free output and can plan their week around a daily cap.

Pros

  • It is the only free plan here with a daily count and a stated rule for what happens after week one.
  • Export to PDF, DOCX and Google Docs is on the free plan, so finished materials leave the app without a paid step.
  • Professional raises the cap to 150 generations a day, thirty times the free rate, and adds the full feedback generator.

Cons

  • Week one allows 15 a day, then the cap drops to 5, so a new teacher's first week is a poor guide to the rest of the month.
  • The free plan has select generators only. The full set, including the PowerPoint generator, waits for Professional.
2 Edcafe AI logo

Edcafe AI

100 monthly generations on a free plan that says it stays free, with 3 custom chatbots and 3 assignment graders.

Pricing
Free forever: 100 generations a month. Pro $7.99/mo billed annually; Premium $14.99/mo billed annually.

Best for: Teachers who write quizzes, assignments and classroom chatbots and want a clear monthly count.

Pros

  • The free plan states its monthly count and says it stays free, so a teacher can plan against a known number.
  • Free includes 3 custom chatbots and 3 assignment graders, which lets a teacher test grading before paying.
  • Pro adds 1,000 monthly generations and lets you upload your own files.

Cons

  • The free plan caps participants at 40 per quiz, chatbot or grader. Pro raises that to 200.
  • Pro and Premium are shown only as annual billing, with no monthly price on the page.
3 MagicSchool AI logo

MagicSchool AI

The most tools on a free plan in this list, with unlimited generations only once you pay for Plus.

Pricing
Forever Free: 80+ teacher tools, cap not published. Plus $8.33/user/mo billed annually or $12.99 monthly.

Best for: Teachers who want the largest library of lesson, quiz and feedback tools before paying for unlimited use.

Pros

  • Forever Free includes 80+ teacher tools, the Raina chatbot, quizzes and class writing feedback.
  • Plus adds unlimited generations, unlimited output history and AI-output editing, so work stays in the app.
  • Annual billing saves $55.92 a year per teacher against monthly billing on Plus.

Cons

  • The free generation cap is not published, so a teacher cannot plan a term's output against it.
  • Plus is priced per user. Ten teachers on annual billing pay $999.60 a year.
4 Khanmigo for Teachers logo

Khanmigo for Teachers

Free for teachers, with lesson planning and summaries of student work, and no usage cap published.

Pricing
Free for teachers, no cap published. Learners and families $4/mo or $44/yr. Districts: request pricing.

Best for: Teachers who want lesson planning, rubrics and exit tickets tied to Khan Academy content, at no cost.

Pros

  • Sign-up is free, and the feature list covers the core planning tasks: lessons, objectives, rubrics and exit tickets.
  • Lessons draw on Khan Academy's content library, which a teacher can check against their own scope and sequence.
  • The tool summarizes student work to show progress and areas for support.

Cons

  • No usage cap is published for the free teacher plan, so a heavy planning week has no stated limit to check.
  • The $4 and $44 prices are for learners and families. The page lists no paid plan for teachers.
5 Brisk Teaching logo

Brisk Teaching

A free teacher tier with 20+ tools on standard models, and a Premium tier of 35+ tools whose price the plans page leaves out.

Pricing
Free for teachers: 20+ tools on standard models. Premium lists 35+ tools and Turbo models, with no price shown.

Best for: Teachers who draft in Google Docs or Slides and want feedback tools on student work.

Pros

  • The free tier is listed at $0 for teachers, and Premium's 35+ tools sit on the same comparison table.
  • The tools run inside Docs, Slides, YouTube and the LMS, not only in a separate app.
  • The plans page compares tiers feature by feature, so the upgrade path is visible on one page.

Cons

  • The free tier runs on standard models, and the page does not state a daily or monthly cap for it.
  • The Premium price is missing from the plans page, so the paid step cannot be costed from the vendor's page yet.
6 Curipod logo

Curipod

A free teacher plan for writing practice, with unlimited student writers and a weekly session allowance the page does not quantify.

Pricing
Free for every teacher: $0 a month, unlimited student writers, weekly live sessions. Districts: custom pricing.

Best for: ELA, social studies and science teachers who want weekly student writing practice with instant feedback.

Pros

  • The teacher plan is $0 a month, and student writers are unlimited on it.
  • Each writing practice gives students Glow and Grow feedback straight away, covering ELA, social studies and science.
  • The teacher can review all AI output before students see it, a control the free column lists as included.

Cons

  • The free plan allows a set number of live sessions each week, and the page does not say what that number is.
  • Curipod is built for writing practice, not lesson planning, so it does not replace a lesson-plan generator.
7 SchoolAI logo

SchoolAI

A free trial with five Space launches a year, so it works as a test of the product rather than an everyday free plan.

Pricing
Free trial: 5 Space launches a year, 10 MB uploads. Pro: no price on the page, demo required.

Best for: Teachers testing AI Spaces with one class before a school decision. It is a trial, not a permanent free plan.

Pros

  • The trial includes 5 trial Spaces, so a teacher can test the product with one class before any purchase.
  • Pro adds unlimited Space launches, SIS rostering and Smart Groups for a school rollout.
  • While a Space is live, the teacher can see what each student is doing in real time, even on the trial.

Cons

  • Five Space launches a year runs out fast for a teacher running a Space each week. Five weeks would use them all.
  • The page shows no price for Pro, so the paid step has no number to compare until you book a demo.

What it is

A free AI plan for teachers gives access to a set of generators, such as lesson plans, quizzes, rubrics and feedback, plus a limit on how much output you get. The limit is the part to read first. Some plans publish a count per day or per month.

Others publish a session allowance or no number at all, and state "unlimited" only on the paid tier.

This page is narrower than our best AI writing tools list: tools built for classroom tasks, judged on what the free plan lets a teacher make in a month.

Why it matters

A cap decides whether a free plan can carry a planning week. Edcafe's 100 generations a month works out to about 25 a week. TeacherMatic's 15 a day in week one drops to 5 a day, which is about 150 in a 30-day month.

Once you know the count, you can tell whether the free tier covers a normal week or only a trial.

The first paid step looks cheap for one teacher. MagicSchool Plus is $8.33 per user a month billed annually, and Edcafe Pro is $7.99 a month billed annually.

Per-user pricing adds up: ten teachers on MagicSchool Plus at that rate pay $999.60 a year. Our ChatGPT pricing guide prices the general assistant many teachers already pay for.

Tasks beyond planning come up as well.

For lecture recordings, see best free AI transcription tools, and for meeting notes with parents or staff, best AI note-taking apps.

Key features to look for

Published generation counts
Edcafe (100 a month) and TeacherMatic (a daily cap) state a count on the free plan. The other five publish no generation count, so compare them on tool access and paid terms instead.
Tool access on the free plan
MagicSchool lists 80+ teacher tools on Forever Free. Brisk lists 20+ tools on its free tier and 35+ on Premium. Khanmigo lists its teacher tools by function, not by count.
The first paid price
Edcafe Pro is $7.99 a month billed annually. MagicSchool Plus is priced per user, so the team total is the number to compare. TeacherMatic's paid plan is priced in pounds, and Brisk's Premium price is not on its plans page.
What the price covers
Check the billing unit before you compare. MagicSchool prices per user. Curipod, SchoolAI and Khanmigo route school and district access through quote or demo paths.

Pricing

Every plan and price on this page was checked on the vendor's own pricing page on October 12, 2026. Dollar figures are US dollars as published.

TeacherMatic prices are in pounds on its page, and no US dollar figure appears there, so none is shown in dollars.

Edcafe AI bills Pro and Premium annually, and MagicSchool AI lists both an annual and a monthly price for Plus.

Khanmigo prices learner and family plans at $4 a month or $44 a year, and lists no paid teacher plan.

Brisk Teaching shows no Premium price, Curipod prices districts on request, and SchoolAI sells Pro through a demo.

Methodology: we kept AI tools built for teaching whose free plan or trial terms are stated on the vendor's pricing page.

We ranked them by the monthly generations the free plan publishes, then by the first paid step. Tools that publish no generation count rank below tools that do.

PlanPriceBest for
TeacherMatic IndividualFree15 generations a day for week one, then 5 a day; select generators; PDF, DOCX and Google Docs export
TeacherMatic Professional£6.99/mo or £69/yr, incl. 20% VAT (no US dollar figure on the page)150 generations a day, all generators including the PowerPoint and full feedback generator
Edcafe AI FreeFree100 monthly generations, 3 custom chatbots, 3 assignment graders, 40 participants per quiz
Edcafe AI Pro$7.99/mo billed annually1,000 monthly generations, 20 chatbots, 20 graders, 200 participants, file upload
Edcafe AI Premium$14.99/mo billed annuallyUnlimited generations and chatbots
MagicSchool AI Forever FreeFree80+ teacher tools, Raina chatbot, quizzes and class writing feedback; generation cap not published
MagicSchool AI Plus$8.33/user/mo billed annually, or $12.99/mo billed monthlyUnlimited generations, unlimited output history, AI-output editing, 50+ student tools
Khanmigo for TeachersFreeLesson planning, student-work summaries, objectives, rubrics and exit tickets; no cap published
Brisk Teaching FreeFree20+ tools on standard models; Chrome and Edge extension
Brisk Teaching PremiumNo price on the plans page35+ tools, Turbo models, unlimited usage
Curipod for teachersFreeWeekly live writing sessions (a set number, not published); unlimited student writers
SchoolAI Free TrialFree trial5 Space launches a year, 5 trial Spaces, 10 MB upload limit per session
SchoolAI ProNo price on the page; demo requiredUnlimited Space launches, SIS rostering, Smart Groups and outcomes
Mistakes to avoid
×Reading a free-plan count as a monthly budget. TeacherMatic's cap is daily, and its higher week-one rate lasts only a week.
×Treating a personal free plan as a school license. Most vendors here route whole-school access through district pricing, which is quote-based or not on the page.
×Entering student names or work before reading the vendor's privacy terms. Each vendor has its own data terms, and a free plan can differ from a district contract.
×Comparing the headline number without its unit. Edcafe counts generations, Curipod counts weekly sessions and SchoolAI counts Space launches.
Expert tips
→Start with a tool whose cap is published, and spend that cap on the three tasks you repeat each week, such as a lesson plan, a quiz and a rubric.
→Track your generation count for two weeks on the free plan before paying anything, since TeacherMatic's first week runs at a higher daily cap.
→Ask whether a price is per user before you compare. MagicSchool Plus is per user, so the cost of a team grows with every teacher added.
→Ask the school about district access before buying personal plans. Khanmigo, Curipod and SchoolAI all route school rollouts through a quote or a demo.

The bottom line

For the most published free output, start with TeacherMatic, the only free plan here with a daily count. For a free plan with a published monthly count that stays free, Edcafe AI gives 100 generations a month.

For the largest free library, MagicSchool AI is the tool to try, with the caveat that its cap is not published.

For lesson planning without a paid step, Khanmigo for Teachers (Toolradar profile) is free for teachers.

If you need unlimited generations, price MagicSchool Plus (Toolradar profile) first, billed per user on an annual plan.

For the general assistants many teachers already use, read our ChatGPT pricing guide and best AI chatbots.

Student-work checking sits in best free AI detectors.

For classroom slides, see best AI presentation makers, and for classroom images, best free AI image generators.

Cite this: AIpresso, "Best Free AI Tools for Teachers in 2026," October 2026.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best free AI tool for teachers in 2026?

TeacherMatic publishes the most free output: 15 generations a day in week one, then 5 a day, about 150 a month. Edcafe AI is the next pick, with 100 generations a month on a free plan that says it stays free. MagicSchool AI has the most tools on a free plan here, with 80+ teacher tools, but it publishes no cap.

Is there a free AI tool for lesson plans?

Yes. Khanmigo for Teachers is free and covers lesson planning, objectives, rubrics and exit tickets. MagicSchool's Forever Free plan includes its 80+ teacher tools, and Edcafe's free plan gives 100 monthly generations plus chatbots and graders.

How much does MagicSchool AI cost?

The Forever Free plan costs nothing and includes 80+ teacher tools. Plus costs $8.33 per user a month billed annually, which is $99.96 a year, or $12.99 a month billed monthly. Prices were checked on its pricing page on October 12, 2026.

Are free AI tools for teachers safe for student data?

Read each vendor's privacy terms before you enter student names, grades or work. The terms decide what the vendor may store and use for training, and a free plan can differ from a district contract. Keep identifying details out unless your school has approved the tool.

Which free AI teacher tool has no usage cap?

Khanmigo for Teachers, the MagicSchool Forever Free plan and Brisk's free tier publish no numeric cap. That is not the same as unlimited use. Brisk lists unlimited usage only on Premium, with Turbo models, which implies a free-tier limit the page does not state.

Is Curipod free for teachers?

Yes. Curipod's plan for every teacher is $0 a month, with unlimited student writers and weekly live writing sessions. The number of sessions each week is not published, and school and district plans are priced on request.
Related guides

Some offers on this page may be paid placements or contain affiliate links.

Get the AIpresso brief

Free daily newsletter, read in 5 minutes.

Subscribe free