Guide

ChatGPT Plan Changes in 2026: What Changed and When

ChatGPT plan changes in 2026, dated: Go at $8/mo, ads on Free and Go, a $100 Pro tier, Pro 500 at $500/mo, and the Pro 200 allowance cut.

ChatGPT Plan Changes in 2026: What Changed and When

The change that hits an existing subscriber next is October 29, 2026, when eligible Pro 200 accounts lose the older usage allowance and keep the same price. Go is still $8/mo, Plus is still $20/mo, and Pro is three monthly plans at $100, $200, and $500. If you cannot name the limit that stops your work, the new top tier is a larger bill for headroom you will not use.

This is the change log, not the full catalog of what each plan includes today, which lives on our ChatGPT pricing page. Every price below was read on October 17, 2026, on OpenAI's Codex pricing page, the Pro tiers article, the January Go announcement, and the business pricing page.

What each plan costs after the changes

Plan Price now What changed for this plan in 2026
Free $0 Ads may appear for logged-in adults. Everyday text chats are unlimited, subject to abuse guardrails. Older models left the picker.
Go $8/mo Launched in the US on January 16. Monthly only. The plan may include ads. It does not list GPT-6 Sol, GPT-6 Astra, or GPT-6.1 Sol.
Plus $20/mo Sticker unchanged. Monthly only. Ad-free. This is the first individual plan that lists those GPT-6 models.
Pro 100 $100/mo Added April 22. No Ultrafast. A lower included allowance than Pro 200.
Pro 200 $200/mo Sticker unchanged. Older allowance ends October 29 for eligible accounts. No Ultrafast.
Pro 500 $500/mo Added September 29. The only Pro plan with Ultrafast. Highest included usage of the three.
Business Standard $25/user/mo if billed monthly Annual rate matches Plus. Minimum two users. Ad-free. No training on business data by default.
Business Premium $125/user/mo if billed monthly 5x more usage than Standard, and no 5-hour limit. Annual rate is five times the Standard annual rate.
Enterprise No list price Contact sales. Credit-based and token-based pricing are both offered.

Personal plans do not offer a yearly prepay. OpenAI's Go help article says Go, Plus, and Pro are billed monthly, with no annual plan and no way to pay several months ahead, so a buyer cannot lock this year's rate. Business is the subscription that has an annual rate. Enterprise publishes no list price, so that comparison waits on a quote.

Toolradar data: Toolradar tracks 1,559 AI assistants as of October 17, 2026, on its AI assistants ranking. Of those, 61% are free, freemium, or open source. The median cheapest paid plan is $16/mo, across the 487 that publish a price. Go sits under that median. ChatGPT's own Toolradar profile is the entity page for the product.

The 2026 timeline

When What OpenAI changed Who it hits
January 16 Go rolls out everywhere ChatGPT is sold Anyone who wanted a paid plan under Plus
February 9 Ads test starts in the US Logged-in adults on Free and Go
February 13 GPT-4o, GPT-4.1, GPT-4.1 mini, o4-mini, and GPT-5 Instant and Thinking leave ChatGPT Every chat plan. The API keeps the models
February 19 Enterprise workspaces lose remaining GPT-5 access. GPT-5 Pro leaves paid plans Enterprise workspaces, then every paid plan
March 11 GPT-5.1 Instant, Thinking, and Pro leave ChatGPT, including custom GPTs Chats and GPTs. The API keeps them
April 3 GPT-4o leaves Custom GPTs on Business, Enterprise, and Edu Those workspaces
April 22 A lower Pro tier launches, with a Codex usage promotion through May 31 Plus and Pro subscribers
May 15 Library storage caps are set by plan Free, Go, Plus, Business, and Pro
July 15 Custom instructions rise from 1,500 to 5,000 characters Plus, Pro, Business, Enterprise, and Education
August 10 Free and Go are told unlimited text chats start the following week Free and Go. Uploads, images, and other tools stay capped
September 10 New sign-ups to Pro 200 pause. OpenAI calls that plan Pro 20X in the notice Anyone not already on it
September 29 Pro 500 launches. Pro 200 reopens. Dots start rolling out Pro buyers, and Business Premium for dots
October 14 GPT-5.5 leaves Codex when you sign in with ChatGPT, at noon Pacific ChatGPT-login Codex. API-key sessions stay
October 29 The older Pro 200 allowance ends Accounts that qualified for the older allowance

Prices in the first table are the stickers on October 17, and the timeline is what moved underneath them. A renewal in the last week of October is the one to read before it charges, because the allowance can shrink while the price on the invoice stays put.

January 16: Go becomes a US plan

On January 16, 2026, OpenAI made Go available everywhere ChatGPT is sold. In the US it launched at $8 per month, a paid step under Plus for people who hit Free limits. That day's ladder was Go, Plus, and one Pro plan, because the two newer Pro tiers did not exist yet.

The announcement sold Go as more messages, uploads, image creation, and memory than Free, then on GPT-5.2 Instant. The pricing grid today is stricter: Free and Go list GPT-6 Luna, and they do not list GPT-6.1 Sol, GPT-6 Astra, or GPT-6 Sol, while Plus lists all three. The Go help article says Think uses GPT-5.6 Luna, and that Go does not include GPT-5.6 Sol.

Go buys higher limits on the everyday model, not the models Plus uses for harder work. A switch down from Plus or Pro does not refund the current cycle, so the higher plan runs until renewal and the Go rate starts only then. If the work needs a model Go does not list, the cheaper seat drops that work.

February 9: ads on Free and Go

OpenAI's ads test post, first published February 9, 2026, started a US test for logged-in adults on Free and Go, with a subset of users first. Plus, Pro, Business, Enterprise, and Education do not get ads, so part of those prices is a screen with no sponsor. Ads are labeled, separated from the answer, and OpenAI says they do not change it.

Advertisers do not receive chats, history, memories, or personal details. Ads are withheld when OpenAI is told or predicts the user is under 18, and they are not placed beside health, mental health, or politics.

Opting out of ads on Free comes with fewer daily free messages, so the free account trades volume for a cleaner screen. The ads post does not offer that opt-out on Go, and the documented way off ads there is Plus or Pro. Later updates on the same post carried the pilot past the US, and by August 11, 2026 it had launched in the UK, Mexico, Brazil, Japan, and South Korea. The pricing page still says Go may include ads, so treat them as possible outside that first subset, not as a banner on every account.

Which models left a paid plan

On February 13, 2026, ChatGPT retired GPT-4o, GPT-4.1, GPT-4.1 mini, OpenAI o4-mini, and GPT-5 Instant and Thinking. The retirement article says the API kept them, so an API product did not share the picker's cutoff. Enterprise workspaces kept GPT-5 through February 19, and GPT-5 Pro stayed for all paid users through that date.

On March 11, GPT-5.1 Instant, Thinking, and Pro left chats and custom GPTs, and stayed on the API. Business, Enterprise, and Edu kept GPT-4o inside Custom GPTs until April 3, then lost it on every plan. OpenAI said old conversations and GPTs would move to the closest GPT-5.3 Instant and GPT-5.4 Thinking or Pro equivalents, so a pin to an old model did not survive. Voice and ChatGPT Images were named as separate models, so this was not a voice or image shutdown.

Release notes then removed GPT-5.2 Instant, Thinking, and Pro from ChatGPT on June 12, and GPT-4.5, including custom GPTs, on June 26, with no API change for that GPT-4.5 cutoff. On October 14, at noon Pacific, GPT-5.5 left Codex signed in with ChatGPT, while API-key sessions were not in that cutoff. A paid plan does not freeze last month's model names: April 3 was the last day for GPT-4o in a custom GPT, and October 14 was the last day for GPT-5.5 on ChatGPT-login Codex.

April 22: a lower Pro tier, with a promotion that ended

On April 22, 2026, release notes added the lower Pro plan and a temporary Codex promotion: up to 10x more Codex usage than Plus, up from a 5x standard allowance, through May 31. The higher Pro plan kept its own Codex promotion through that same date. Plus was rebalanced toward more sessions across the week, rather than one long day, so a single sitting no longer matches the cap.

That 10x bump ended May 31, and it is not the current description of Pro 100. The current Pro article does not restate a Plus multiple for the lower tier. It says Pro 200 includes more usage than Pro 100, and Pro 500 includes the most. Use the usage dashboard, not the April note, for a live allowance.

The same day's notes also started ads for Free and Go in Australia, New Zealand, and Canada. Image generation moved to ChatGPT Images 2.0 on all plans, with thinking on paid plans. How that meter works now is on our ChatGPT image generator page. The official DALL-E GPT was retired on August 30, after a July 31 notice, and user-created GPTs with image generation were not part of that retirement.

May 15: storage caps, by plan

On May 15, 2026, OpenAI set Library storage caps, and the file storage article still lists them: 500 MB on Free, 4 GB on Go, 20 GB on Plus and Business, and 100 GB on Pro. The pool counts uploads and files ChatGPT creates, and temporary Chat uploads are not saved, so a one-off file in a temporary chat stays out of the library. The 100 GB pool is one Pro cap, not a larger cap on the top tier, so a full library is not a reason to buy the newest Pro plan.

On July 15, custom instructions grew from 1,500 characters to 5,000 for Plus, Pro, Business, Enterprise, and Education. Free and Go were left at the old length, so a long standing brief is a reason to leave those two plans.

September 10: sign-ups paused, then the allowance shrank

On September 10, 2026, OpenAI's cancellation article paused new sign-ups and upgrades to Pro 200, and called that plan Pro 20X. The pause covered moves up from Free, Go, Plus, and Pro 100, so an upgrade that week could not buy the middle tier. People already on that plan, and people on Pro 100, were not paused.

Canceling or scheduling a downgrade kept the plan until the cycle ended, and the change could be undone before then. After the cycle, the notice said you could not buy it again until the pause lifted. The clicks are in our how to cancel a ChatGPT subscription guide.

The Pro tiers article now says new Pro 200 subscriptions are available again, with a lower included allowance unless you qualify for the older one. OpenAI ties that cut to more efficient models, and the monthly price remains $200, so the bill does not fall when the pool does.

The older allowance applies only if the account had an active Pro 200 subscription at any point from September 22, 2026, through 10 am Pacific Time on September 29, 2026. It lasts through the cutoff on the timeline, while that subscription stays active, and then the lower allowance starts. Only affected people get the email, so silence does not prove an account is outside the window.

The older allowance does not add Ultrafast, and resubscribing on the same account still ends when the window closes. Missing the window means the lower allowance starts immediately. A scheduled cancellation can be undone before the period ends, which keeps days already paid for.

The Pro article does not state the new allowance as a multiple of Plus. Pro 20X is the name on that pause notice, not a budget figure for the week after the allowance drops.

Pro 500, Ultrafast, and dots

Release notes that day introduced the top Pro tier, with Astra Ultrafast in ChatGPT Work and Codex. The DevDay recap calls the included usage 25 times the Plus allowance. It launched on the web, and Ultrafast is only on this Pro tier. Credits bought on Pro 100 or Pro 200 do not add it.

For GPT-6 Astra and GPT-6.1 Sol, Ultrafast spends included allowance at 8 times the Standard rate, then credits at 6 times the Standard credit rate. Fast mode spends included allowance at 2.5 times Standard, and purchased credits for Fast at 2 times. An hour of Ultrafast can consume the pool the way eight hours of Standard would.

Pro plans currently have no five-hour limit, while Plus and Standard Business do. OpenAI's local-message estimates per five hours, which it says are not fixed caps, run from 5 to 45 on GPT-6 Astra up to 350 to 3,000 on GPT-6 Luna, with GPT-6.1 Sol at 15 to 160 and GPT-6 Sol at 15 to 150. Cloud tasks can cost more, and a weekly limit may also apply.

Dots rolled out the same day to eligible Pro users and Business Premium users age 18 or older. Pro access excluded the European Economic Area, Switzerland, and the UK at launch. Enterprise started as a beta, off by default, so an admin has to turn it on. OpenAI said dots usage would stay off the allowance for the next month, then it would publish terms. That note gives no calendar end date, so do not treat dots as free of the allowance for good.

Desktop voice draws the Codex budget at $0.05 a minute, so an hour is $3, and the task model bills on top. Image generations use included limits about 3 to 5 times faster than a similar turn without an image, so a picture-heavy habit needs a larger plan than chat does.

What a year of the new ladder costs

A year of Go is $96, a year of Plus is $240, and a year of Pro 200 is $2,400. A year of the top tier is $6,000, which is $3,600 more than Pro 200 over the year, or $300 more each month. None of those four offers an annual discount, so the yearly figure is twelve monthly charges, not a cheaper prepay.

Five people on annual Standard seats cost $1,200 for the year, the same total as five Plus subscriptions. The workspace is what that total buys: SAML SSO, MFA, usage analytics, and no training on business data by default, which is why company files should leave personal logins. Pay those five seats monthly, at $25 each, and the bill is $125 a month, $1,500 for the year, $300 more across the year than the annual workspace.

Premium removes the five-hour limit and includes 5x more usage than Standard, which is the seat to buy when Standard is already the wall. Monthly Premium is $125 per user, and the annual rate is five times the annual Standard rate. Dots sit on the Premium seat, not on every Business seat, so a team that wants the agent and buys Standard has not bought it.

Enterprise stays a sales conversation: the pricing page offers credit-based and token-based pricing and does not print a seat price. The same page says verified US K-12 educators can use ChatGPT for Teachers free through June 2027, and nonprofits can get up to a 75% discount on Business or Enterprise through OpenAI for Nonprofits, which a school or charity should check before paying list price.

The next change like this is what the free brief at aipresso.com is for.

What to check before the allowance drops

Stay on Free when everyday text is enough and you can accept tool limits plus possible ads, because a paid seat only pays off when it removes a limit you actually hit. Move to Go when uploads, images, or memory are the wall and you do not need the GPT-6 models Plus lists. Stay on Plus when those models are the weekly habit and you are not hitting a usage wall. Step to the lower Pro tier only when you can name the Plus limit in the way, and move to Pro 200 only when that lower tier is the wall.

If the account is inside the September grandfather window, the cutoff on the timeline is the last day of the older allowance. Canceling early drops days already paid for, and a later resubscribe does not push that date out. Buy the top tier for Ultrafast or the 25-times allowance, after a week with the speed control on, not for a larger library. A team should compare five Plus bills with the annual Standard total above before company files stay on personal logins.

Our ChatGPT review is the product verdict, and the best AI chatbots ranking is the wider shelf. For a calmer bill elsewhere, read Claude vs ChatGPT, Gemini vs ChatGPT, and ChatGPT vs Perplexity, then Claude pricing, Gemini pricing, and Perplexity pricing. Routes to Plus that do not start at the sticker are on how to get ChatGPT Plus for free, people leaving can start from ChatGPT alternatives, and category price context is on AI subscription prices 2026.

How this page was checked

Louis Corneloup, founder of Toolradar and Dupple, edited this timeline for people deciding whether a 2026 change should alter a renewal. Prices and rules were read on October 17, 2026, on the pages linked above: Codex pricing, the business pricing page, the Pro tiers article, the Go announcement, the ads post, the model retirement article, the file storage article, the DevDay recap, and ChatGPT release notes. The 1,559 count is from Toolradar's AI assistants ranking that day. Allowances that OpenAI calls estimates stay on the usage dashboard.

AIpresso data: 25,000+ people subscribe to this brief, and the average open rate is 31%, from the audience file refreshed October 18, 2026. How Toolradar sets ranks is on its editorial policy. How this site publishes is on the AIpresso about page.

Three side doors are not a Pro substitute: on March 20, release notes said verified university students in the United States and Canada could claim 2,500 ChatGPT credits on Free, Go, Plus, or Pro for extra Codex, which is a student credit, not a cheaper Pro. When the lower Pro tier launched, ChatGPT for Clinicians launched as a free US workspace for verified clinicians. On July 29, a research program offered 12 months of complimentary access for a verified team of up to five, with a $0 checkout.

Cite this: AIpresso, "ChatGPT Plan Changes in 2026: What Changed and When", October 2026.

FAQ

What changed in ChatGPT plans in 2026?

Go launched in the US in January, ads reached Free and Go in February, and older models left the chat picker that month. A lower Pro tier arrived in April, and the top tier arrived later in September with Ultrafast. For someone already on Pro 200, the next mark on the timeline is when the older allowance ends and the price does not.

Did the ChatGPT Plus price change in 2026?

No. Plus is $20/mo, billed monthly, with no annual option, so there is no 2026 discount on this plan. Go appeared under it, two more Pro prices appeared above it, and ads stayed on the plans below while Plus stays ad-free.

What happens to ChatGPT Pro 200 on October 29, 2026?

Eligible accounts move to a lower included allowance, and the monthly price remains $200, so the renewal amount looks the same while the pool gets smaller. You qualify with an active Pro 200 subscription at any point from September 22, 2026, through 10 am Pacific on September 29, 2026. The older allowance does not include Ultrafast, and the Pro article does not state the new allowance as a multiple of Plus.

Does ChatGPT Go include ads?

It may. The US test began February 9, 2026, for logged-in adults on Free and Go, starting with a subset of users, so a quiet account can still gain ads later. Plus, Pro, Business, Enterprise, and Education do not get ads. Free accounts can opt out and receive fewer daily free messages, and the ads post does not offer that opt-out on Go.

Is there an annual ChatGPT plan in 2026?

Not on an individual account: Go, Plus, and Pro are monthly only, so the yearly totals here are twelve monthly charges, not a prepaid discount. Business has an annual rate that matches the Plus monthly rate, and a monthly rate of $25 per user, with a two-user minimum, and Enterprise publishes no list price.

Who should pay for ChatGPT Pro 500?

Pay for it when you need Ultrafast or the highest allowance and you already hit the wall on Pro 200, at $500 a month. DevDay described the included usage as 25 times the Plus allowance. Ultrafast spends that allowance at 8 times the Standard rate, and credits on the lower Pro plans do not add the speed. The library cap does not grow on this tier.

Which ChatGPT models were removed in 2026?

On February 13, ChatGPT retired GPT-4o, GPT-4.1, GPT-4.1 mini, o4-mini, and GPT-5 Instant and Thinking, with some GPT-5 access through February 19, while the API kept them. GPT-5.1 Instant, Thinking, and Pro left on March 11, and GPT-4o left Custom GPTs on Business, Enterprise, and Edu on April 3. Later notes removed GPT-5.2 on June 12, GPT-4.5 on June 26, and GPT-5.5 from ChatGPT-login Codex on October 14. Those chat retirements did not remove the models from the API on the same dates.

Some offers on this page may be paid placements or contain affiliate links.

AIpresso: your daily AI brief

Free daily newsletter, read in 5 minutes.

Subscribe free