Expert Guide

Best Free AI Grammar Checkers in 2026: Free Limits Compared

Seven free AI grammar checkers compared on daily AI rewrites, the size of one check, and the lowest paid price in USD.

Product links may be affiliate links. How we rate 7 tools compared
TL;DR

Short answer: Wordtune and ProWritingAid give the most free AI rewrites we could verify, 10 a day each. Wordtune also checks spelling and grammar with no stated limit, and the lowest USD paid price we verified is Wordtune Advanced at $4.89 a month billed annually.

Grammarly's free plan allows 100 AI prompts a month, about three a day, with no per-check size stated. Sapling and LanguageTool cap each free check at 2,000 characters, and ProWritingAid reads 500 words at a time. Only Wordtune and Sapling show a USD paid price. Each limit was verified on the vendor's own page in October 2026.

Key facts7 tools compared: Wordtune, ProWritingAid, Grammarly, LanguageTool, Sapling, Microsoft Editor…
  • Updated: October 16, 2026
  • Top pick: Wordtune (best for: Writers who want AI rewrites on a free plan and unlimited grammar checks)
  • Top pick price as of October 16, 2026: Wordtune: Basic free: 10 rewrites and AI suggestions a day, grammar checks unlimited. Advanced $4.89/mo billed annually
  • 7 tools compared: Wordtune, ProWritingAid, Grammarly, LanguageTool, Sapling, Microsoft Editor, Outwrite
  • ProWritingAid (best for: Writers who want a line-editing report on a section of a draft each day): Free: suggestions for 500 words at a time, 10 rephrases a day. Premium €10/mo billed yearly, no USD price
  • Grammarly (best for: Occasional writers who need about three AI prompts a day and no paid tool to start): Free: 100 AI prompts a month, no per-check size stated. Pro €12, billing basis not stated
  • LanguageTool (best for: Writers who check short passages a few times a day): Basic free: 2,000 characters per text field, 3 AI rephrases a day. No Premium price shown

Two numbers decide whether a free AI grammar checker fits your work: how many AI rewrites the free plan allows, and how much text one check takes. Vendors state the first as a daily or monthly count and the second in characters or words, and the unit is where most free plans surprise people.

This guide compares seven free plans on those numbers.

How we chose: we checked each free plan on the vendor's own pricing or support page in October 2026, kept the seven that describe a usable free step, and ranked them by free AI rewrites per day, then by check size.

Toolradar data: our grammar and style ranking evaluates 15 tools (October 2026), and six of its first ten list a free plan. DeepL does not publish a free Write limit, so it sits outside this ranking; see our DeepL review.

Top Picks

Based on features, real-world fit, and value for money.

#1 Top pick

Wordtune

Ties ProWritingAid for the most free AI rewrites we verified, at 10 a day, with unlimited spelling and grammar checks.

Pricing

Basic free: 10 rewrites and AI suggestions a day, grammar checks unlimited. Advanced $4.89/mo billed annually

Best for

Writers who want AI rewrites on a free plan and unlimited grammar checks

#2

ProWritingAid

Matches Wordtune's 10 daily rephrases, but each pass covers only 500 words, so the free plan suits section-by-section work rather than full drafts.

Pricing

Free: suggestions for 500 words at a time, 10 rephrases a day. Premium €10/mo billed yearly, no USD price

Best for

Writers who want a line-editing report on a section of a draft each day

#3

Grammarly

About three AI prompts a day is enough for an occasional writer, but the free plan leaves out full-sentence rewrites, tone adjustment and AI-text detection.

Pricing

Free: 100 AI prompts a month, no per-check size stated. Pro €12, billing basis not stated

Best for

Occasional writers who need about three AI prompts a day and no paid tool to start

Best Free AI Grammar Checkers in 2026: Free Limits Compared: 7 tools compared, updated Oct 2026
ToolPricingBest for
WordtuneBasic free: 10 rewrites and AI suggestions a day, grammar checks unlimited. Advanced $4.89/mo billed annuallyWriters who want AI rewrites on a free plan and unlimited grammar checks
ProWritingAidFree: suggestions for 500 words at a time, 10 rephrases a day. Premium €10/mo billed yearly, no USD priceWriters who want a line-editing report on a section of a draft each day
GrammarlyFree: 100 AI prompts a month, no per-check size stated. Pro €12, billing basis not statedOccasional writers who need about three AI prompts a day and no paid tool to start
LanguageToolBasic free: 2,000 characters per text field, 3 AI rephrases a day. No Premium price shownWriters who check short passages a few times a day
SaplingFree: 2,000 characters per check. Pro $25/mo monthly or $12/mo billed annuallyAnyone checking short messages and emails who needs a USD upgrade price
Microsoft EditorFree with a Microsoft account: basic spelling and grammar. Microsoft 365 adds style refinements, no price shownAnyone already drafting in Word for the web, Edge or Chrome
OutwriteFree: spelling, grammar and thesaurus, no word cap stated. Pro €8.95/mo, no USD price shownWriters who draft in Google Docs or Word and want free spelling and grammar checks

Pricing read from each vendor's own pricing page, checked Oct 2026. Every vendor here publishes a price.

1 Wordtune logo
Top Pick

Wordtune

Ties ProWritingAid for the most free AI rewrites we verified, at 10 a day, with unlimited spelling and grammar checks.

Pricing
Basic free: 10 rewrites and AI suggestions a day, grammar checks unlimited. Advanced $4.89/mo billed annually

Best for: Writers who want AI rewrites on a free plan and unlimited grammar checks

Pros

  • Ten rewrites and AI suggestions a day comes to about 300 a month over 30 days, tied for the largest free AI allowance we could verify
  • Spelling and grammar checks are unlimited on the free plan, and the page states no per-text character limit

Cons

  • The $4.89 rate applies only on annual billing, and the page shows $6.99 struck through beside it, so check whether the lower rate is a time-limited offer
  • Wordtune shows no monthly price for any paid plan, so the annual commitment is the only verified rate
2 ProWritingAid logo

ProWritingAid

Matches Wordtune's 10 daily rephrases, but each pass covers only 500 words, so the free plan suits section-by-section work rather than full drafts.

Pricing
Free: suggestions for 500 words at a time, 10 rephrases a day. Premium €10/mo billed yearly, no USD price

Best for: Writers who want a line-editing report on a section of a draft each day

Pros

  • Two line-editing reports a day and 10 rephrases a day on the free plan, both stated on the pricing page
  • The free plan names its check size, 500 words at a time, so you know the unit before you paste anything

Cons

  • A 1,500-word article needs three passes at 500 words each, which slows a full draft
  • ProWritingAid quotes Premium in euros only (€10 a month billed yearly, €30 monthly), so no USD price is verified
3 Grammarly logo

Grammarly

About three AI prompts a day is enough for an occasional writer, but the free plan leaves out full-sentence rewrites, tone adjustment and AI-text detection.

Pricing
Free: 100 AI prompts a month, no per-check size stated. Pro €12, billing basis not stated

Best for: Occasional writers who need about three AI prompts a day and no paid tool to start

Pros

  • The 100-prompt monthly allowance is stated plainly on the plans page, so the limit is known in advance
  • Pro comes with a 7-day free trial and €0 due today, so you can test the paid features before you pay

Cons

  • Full-sentence rewrites, tone adjustment, AI-text detection and plagiarism checks are not on the free plan
  • Pro is listed in euros only, so its paid step cannot be compared with the USD prices above
4 LanguageTool logo

LanguageTool

Three AI rephrases a day is the smallest stated daily AI allowance here, though Premium lifts the text field from 2,000 to 150,000 characters.

Pricing
Basic free: 2,000 characters per text field, 3 AI rephrases a day. No Premium price shown

Best for: Writers who check short passages a few times a day

Pros

  • Premium raises the text field to 150,000 characters, 75 times the free limit
  • The free plan states both its character limit and its AI rephrase cap, so both are known before you start

Cons

  • A 1,500-word article is about 9,000 characters, so the free plan needs five text fields
  • LanguageTool shows no Premium price, so the upgrade cannot be costed in dollars or euros
5 Sapling logo

Sapling

Free checks take 2,000 characters, about 330 words, and Pro raises that to 100,000 characters on a plan with a verified USD price.

Pricing
Free: 2,000 characters per check. Pro $25/mo monthly or $12/mo billed annually

Best for: Anyone checking short messages and emails who needs a USD upgrade price

Pros

  • Pro lifts the check size fifty times, from 2,000 to 100,000 characters
  • The annual Pro rate of $12 a month is one of two USD paid prices verified here, so the upgrade cost is known

Cons

  • A 1,500-word article is about 9,000 characters, so the free plan needs five checks
  • The free page states a check size but no grammar or AI allowance, so the daily limit is unknown until you test it
6 Microsoft Editor logo

Microsoft Editor

A free checker with no usage cap stated, but advanced style refinements need Microsoft 365, and the support page does not price that plan.

Pricing
Free with a Microsoft account: basic spelling and grammar. Microsoft 365 adds style refinements, no price shown

Best for: Anyone already drafting in Word for the web, Edge or Chrome

Pros

  • No usage cap or word limit is stated for the basic spelling and grammar checks
  • Works in Word for the web and in the Edge and Chrome extensions once you sign in with a Microsoft account

Cons

  • The page calls Editor AI-powered but does not say the free tier rewrites text
  • Readability statistics in Word for the web and advanced refinements sit behind Microsoft 365, and the page gives no price
7 Outwrite logo

Outwrite

Free spelling, grammar and thesaurus checks with no cap stated, while sentence rewriting is kept off the free plan.

Pricing
Free: spelling, grammar and thesaurus, no word cap stated. Pro €8.95/mo, no USD price shown

Best for: Writers who draft in Google Docs or Word and want free spelling and grammar checks

Pros

  • Works in Google Docs and Microsoft Word, plus browser extensions, on the free plan
  • Spelling, grammar and the thesaurus are free, with no word cap stated

Cons

  • Sentence rewriting, style improvements, structural suggestions and plagiarism checks are not on the free plan
  • The pricing page shows euros only and gives no annual price, so the Pro cost is not verified in dollars

What it is

A free AI grammar checker flags spelling, grammar and style problems and offers AI rewrites. On most free plans the AI rewrites are capped per day or per month, while basic spelling and grammar checks usually have no stated cap.

For paid AI writing tools in general, see our AI writing tools ranking.

Why it matters

The unit a free plan counts matters more than the headline. Sapling and LanguageTool count characters, and 2,000 characters is about 330 words at six characters a word, so a 1,500-word article (about 9,000 characters) takes five checks.

ProWritingAid counts words, 500 at a time, so the same article needs three passes. Grammarly counts prompts: 100 a month is about three a day, enough for a few rewrites in one sitting. Check the unit on the tool's own page before you pick one.

For AI-detection checks on the same text, our free AI detectors guide lists the free limits of seven checkers.

Key features to look for

The unit that counts
Sapling and LanguageTool count characters, ProWritingAid counts words, and Grammarly counts prompts. Wordtune and Outwrite state no per-text limit, so the daily or monthly allowance is the number to watch on those two.
Daily and monthly allowances
Wordtune and ProWritingAid give 10 a day, LanguageTool gives 3 a day, and Grammarly gives 100 a month. A 10-a-day allowance comes to about 300 rewrites over a 30-day month.
Check size on the free plan
Sapling and LanguageTool cap a check at 2,000 characters and ProWritingAid at 500 words a pass. Wordtune, Grammarly, Outwrite and Microsoft Editor state no per-check limit.
Free plans that leave out AI
Grammarly's free plan leaves out full-sentence rewrites, tone adjustment and AI-text detection. Outwrite's free plan leaves out sentence rewriting, and Microsoft Editor's free page describes no AI rewrite at all.
USD paid prices
Only Wordtune and Sapling show a USD price for a paid step. Grammarly, LanguageTool, ProWritingAid and Outwrite list euros or no price, so their upgrade cost cannot be compared in dollars here.

Pricing

Only Wordtune and Sapling show a USD paid price. Wordtune Advanced is the lowest USD paid price here, at $58.68 a year on annual billing. Sapling Pro costs $144 a year on annual billing and $25 a month if you pay monthly, so annual billing saves $156 a year.

Wordtune's Unlimited plan at $6.99 a month billed annually comes to $83.88 a year.

The other five cannot be ranked on dollars. Grammarly lists Pro at €12 with no billing basis, ProWritingAid lists Premium at €10 a month billed yearly, Outwrite lists Pro at €8.95 a month, and LanguageTool shows no Premium price at all.

Microsoft 365's price is not on its support page. Before you pay, check Wordtune's pricing page and Sapling's, because the Wordtune rates sit beside struck-through prices and promotions change.

PlanPriceBest for
Wordtune BasicFree10 rewrites and AI suggestions a day; spelling and grammar checks unlimited
Wordtune Advanced, billed annually$4.89/mo ($58.68/yr)Billed annually; no monthly price shown
Wordtune Unlimited, billed annually$6.99/mo ($83.88/yr)Unlimited plan, billed annually; no monthly price shown
Sapling FreeFreeBasic writing assistance, 2,000 characters per check
Sapling Pro, billed annually$12/mo ($144/yr)Up to 100,000 characters per check; annual billing is the lower rate
Sapling Pro, monthly$25/moMonth-to-month billing, no annual commitment
Grammarly FreeFree100 AI prompts a month; no per-check size stated
Grammarly Pro€12, billing basis not stated7-day free trial, €0 due today; no USD price listed
LanguageTool BasicFree2,000 characters per text field, 3 AI sentence rephrases a day
LanguageTool PremiumNo price shown150,000 characters per text field, unlimited AI paraphrasing
ProWritingAid FreeFreeSuggestions for 500 words at a time; 10 rephrases and 2 line-editing reports a day
ProWritingAid Premium, billed yearly€10/mo (€120/yr)Listed in euros only
ProWritingAid Premium, monthly€30/moSame plan, billed monthly; euros only
Microsoft Editor, freeFreeBasic spelling and grammar with a Microsoft account; no usage cap stated
Microsoft 365No price shownAdvanced grammar and style refinements, readability statistics in Word for the web
Outwrite FreeFreeSpelling, grammar and thesaurus; no sentence rewriting
Outwrite Pro€8.95/moEuros only; no annual price shown
Mistakes to avoid
×Counting words when the tool counts characters. Sapling and LanguageTool take 2,000 characters a check, which is about 330 words, not 2,000 words.
×Reading Grammarly's 100 prompts as unlimited checks. That allowance is about three prompts a day, so a long editing session runs out in one sitting.
×Pasting a 1,500-word draft into ProWritingAid in one go. The free plan works 500 words at a time, so the draft needs three passes.
Expert tips
→Read what the free plan leaves out before you rely on it. Grammarly's free plan excludes full-sentence rewrites and AI-text detection, and Outwrite's excludes sentence rewriting.
→Use the lowest verified dollar price as the benchmark for an upgrade. That is Wordtune's annual rate, though its monthly rate is not shown, so compare annual totals.
→Date every limit you save. Free allowances change without notice, and the figures here were checked on vendor pages in October 2026.

The bottom line

For the most free AI rewrites, start with Wordtune (Toolradar profile): 10 rewrites and AI suggestions a day, with grammar checks listed as unlimited.

If your job is a long draft, ProWritingAid (Toolradar profile) matches the daily rewrite count, but its 500-word passes make a full draft slower.

Grammarly (Toolradar profile) suits people who need a few AI prompts a day and nothing more.

Treat every figure here as an October 2026 allowance, not a promise.

Our AI writing tools ranking covers paid AI writers and editors, and our free AI detectors guide covers the checks that come after editing.

If you want a general assistant rather than a checker, compare the plans in our ChatGPT pricing, Claude pricing and Gemini pricing guides, and read our Claude review or ChatGPT review.

Cite this: AIpresso, "Best Free AI Grammar Checkers in 2026", October 2026.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best free AI grammar checker in 2026?

Wordtune, on the allowance its free plan gives. The Basic plan includes 10 rewrites and AI suggestions a day and unlimited spelling and grammar checks. ProWritingAid also gives 10 rephrases a day, but works on 500 words at a time. Both figures were checked on vendor pages in October 2026.

Is Grammarly's AI grammar checker free?

Partly. The free plan includes 100 AI prompts a month, about three a day, and states no per-check size. It leaves out full-sentence rewrites, tone adjustment, AI-text detection and plagiarism checks. Grammarly's Pro plan is listed at €12 on the pricing page, with no USD price shown there.

How many words fit in a free AI grammar check?

It depends on the tool. Sapling and LanguageTool take 2,000 characters a check, about 330 words at six characters a word. ProWritingAid works 500 words at a time. Wordtune, Grammarly, Outwrite and Microsoft Editor state no per-check limit, though Wordtune caps its daily rewrites.

What is the cheapest paid AI grammar checker in USD?

Wordtune Advanced, billed annually, is the lowest verified dollar price here, at $58.68 a year. Sapling Pro is the only other tool with a USD price here, at $144 a year on annual billing. Both are annual rates, so compare annual totals.

Does Google Docs have a free grammar checker?

Yes. Google Docs' help page describes spelling and grammar suggestions in English, Spanish, French, German, Portuguese and Italian, with no usage cap stated. The page describes no paid tier for this feature and no AI rewrite, so it works as a baseline rather than an AI tool.

Is Microsoft Editor's grammar checker free?

Basic spelling and grammar are free with a Microsoft account, in Word for the web and in the Edge and Chrome extensions. Advanced style refinements and readability statistics need Microsoft 365, and the support page gives no price for it and no usage cap for the free checks.

Sources

Prices and plan details come from each vendor's own pricing page, re-checked by the Toolradar pricing tracker.

Related guides

Some offers on this page may be paid placements or contain affiliate links.

Get the AIpresso brief

Free daily newsletter, read in 5 minutes.

Subscribe free