Expert Guide

Best Free AI Writers in 2026: Word Limits Compared

Seven AI writing tools compared on the free allowance or trial each one offers, and the cheapest paid step after it.

Product links may be affiliate links. How we rate 7 tools compared
TL;DR

Short answer: Claude gives the most room to draft on a free plan, with no fixed message count, though its limit resets on a rolling five-hour window. Its Pro upgrade is $17 a month on yearly billing. If you need a hard number, Rytr allows 10,000 characters a month, about 1,650 words.

Writesonic, Copy.ai and Jasper offer trials, not ongoing free plans. Once a free allowance runs out, Wordtune is the cheapest paid plan for one person with a USD price, at $4.89 a month on yearly billing, though it rewrites text rather than drafting it.

Key facts7 tools compared: Claude, Rytr, Grammarly, Wordtune, Writesonic, Copy.ai, Jasper
  • Updated: October 17, 2026
  • Top pick: Claude (best for: Drafting long pieces on a free plan with no fixed message count)
  • Top pick price as of October 17, 2026: Claude: Free plan with no fixed message count; Pro $17/mo billed yearly, $20/mo monthly
  • 7 tools compared: Claude, Rytr, Grammarly, Wordtune, Writesonic, Copy.ai, Jasper
  • Rytr (best for: Solo writers who need short marketing copy on a fixed monthly budget): Free: 10,000 characters a month, free forever; Unlimited $7.50/mo on yearly billing
  • Grammarly (best for: Writers who already edit in Grammarly and want light AI help on top): Free: 100 AI prompts a month; Pro is quoted in euros (€12) on the page we read
  • Wordtune (best for: Editing and rewriting a draft you already wrote, one sentence at a time): Basic free: 10 rewrites and AI suggestions a day; Advanced $4.89/mo billed yearly

The word "free" hides how much you can write before you pay. Each allowance comes as characters, prompts, daily rewrites or a trial that ends on a date.

This page puts those allowances side by side.

How we chose: we took seven AI writing tools that offer a free plan or a free trial, read each free allowance and entry price on the vendor's own pricing page, and quoted USD only where that page showed USD.

We did not test output quality, so these figures describe allowances, not writing.

Toolradar data: we evaluated 128 AI writing tools for the Toolradar ranking, as of October 2026. The seven here are the ones whose free step we could confirm on the vendor's own pages.

If you mainly want a general assistant, our ChatGPT pricing and Gemini pricing guides cover those plans.

Top Picks

Based on features, real-world fit, and value for money.

#1 Top pick

Claude

The strongest free drafting tool here, but its limit is a rolling five-hour usage window rather than a number you can plan a month around.

Pricing

Free plan with no fixed message count; Pro $17/mo billed yearly, $20/mo monthly

Best for

Drafting long pieces on a free plan with no fixed message count

#2

Rytr

The free plan with the clearest monthly cap, enough for a few short pieces each month.

Pricing

Free: 10,000 characters a month, free forever; Unlimited $7.50/mo on yearly billing

Best for

Solo writers who need short marketing copy on a fixed monthly budget

#3

Grammarly

A free AI assistant in the editor you may already use, with 100 generation prompts a month before any upgrade is needed.

Pricing

Free: 100 AI prompts a month; Pro is quoted in euros (€12) on the page we read

Best for

Writers who already edit in Grammarly and want light AI help on top

Best Free AI Writers in 2026: Word Limits Compared: 7 tools compared, updated Oct 2026
ToolPricingBest for
ClaudeFree plan with no fixed message count; Pro $17/mo billed yearly, $20/mo monthlyDrafting long pieces on a free plan with no fixed message count
RytrFree: 10,000 characters a month, free forever; Unlimited $7.50/mo on yearly billingSolo writers who need short marketing copy on a fixed monthly budget
GrammarlyFree: 100 AI prompts a month; Pro is quoted in euros (€12) on the page we readWriters who already edit in Grammarly and want light AI help on top
WordtuneBasic free: 10 rewrites and AI suggestions a day; Advanced $4.89/mo billed yearlyEditing and rewriting a draft you already wrote, one sentence at a time
WritesonicNo free plan listed; free trial, then Starter $79/mo billed annually (15 articles a month)SEO teams that will pay for article volume once a trial ends
Copy.aiNo free plan listed; Chat $24/mo billed annually ($29 monthly) for 5 seats, unlimited wordsSmall teams that want shared chat with unlimited words for five people
JasperNo free plan; 7-day free trial, then Pro $59/seat/mo billed annually ($69 monthly)Marketing teams that need brand voice controls and will pay per seat

Pricing read from each vendor's own pricing page, checked Oct 2026. 1 of 7 publishes prices for some plans and quotes the rest.

Lowest published monthly price by toolBar chart of the lowest monthly price each vendor publishes; the same figures are in the comparison table above.Lowest published monthly priceClaude$17Rytr$7.50Wordtune$4.89Writesonic$79Copy.ai$24Jasper$59
Lowest monthly figure each vendor publishes, checked Oct 2026. A tilde marks a figure the vendor states approximately. Per-seat and usage charges can sit on top of it. 1 of 7 does not publish a comparable monthly price and is left out rather than estimated.
1 Claude logo
Top Pick

Claude

The strongest free drafting tool here, but its limit is a rolling five-hour usage window rather than a number you can plan a month around.

Pricing
Free plan with no fixed message count; Pro $17/mo billed yearly, $20/mo monthly

Best for: Drafting long pieces on a free plan with no fixed message count

Pros

  • The free plan includes web search, file creation and Artifacts, according to the pricing page
  • Pro gives at least 5x more usage per session than Free

Cons

  • No number on the free allowance, so you cannot budget a month in words
  • A long writing session can reach the five-hour window and wait for the reset
2 Rytr logo

Rytr

The free plan with the clearest monthly cap, enough for a few short pieces each month.

Pricing
Free: 10,000 characters a month, free forever; Unlimited $7.50/mo on yearly billing

Best for: Solo writers who need short marketing copy on a fixed monthly budget

Pros

  • 10,000 characters a month with no card needed, according to the pricing page
  • The Unlimited plan removes the character cap on yearly billing, the cheapest full-writer upgrade here

Cons

  • One 1,500-word article uses nearly the whole monthly cap, so the plan fits short pieces only
  • Every draft counts against the same monthly character cap
3 Grammarly logo

Grammarly

A free AI assistant in the editor you may already use, with 100 generation prompts a month before any upgrade is needed.

Pricing
Free: 100 AI prompts a month; Pro is quoted in euros (€12) on the page we read

Best for: Writers who already edit in Grammarly and want light AI help on top

Pros

  • The free plan includes 100 AI prompts a month, the cap the pricing page states
  • Pro lists 2,000 prompts per member a month, twenty times the free cap

Cons

  • Prompts count requests, not words, so the output size is not stated
  • The pricing page quotes Pro in euros only, so the USD upgrade cost is not shown
4 Wordtune logo

Wordtune

A rewriter more than a generator: the free plan gives 10 rewrites a day and unlimited spelling and grammar fixes.

Pricing
Basic free: 10 rewrites and AI suggestions a day; Advanced $4.89/mo billed yearly

Best for: Editing and rewriting a draft you already wrote, one sentence at a time

Pros

  • The free plan includes unlimited spelling corrections and grammar checks
  • 10 rewrites a day is a steady daily allowance, not a one-off trial

Cons

  • Three AI summarizations a month is a hard stop for research-heavy writing
  • Built around rewriting, so a blank page still needs another tool first
5 Writesonic logo

Writesonic

Its free step is a trial with no stated length, so it tests the tool rather than giving a monthly allowance.

Pricing
No free plan listed; free trial, then Starter $79/mo billed annually (15 articles a month)

Best for: SEO teams that will pay for article volume once a trial ends

Pros

  • Starter lists 15 AI articles a month, a unit of volume none of the free plans here uses
  • The trial needs no credit card, according to the pricing page

Cons

  • The entry plan at $79 a month on annual billing is the highest entry price in this list
  • The trial length is not stated on the pricing page
6 Copy.ai logo

Copy.ai

Its Try for free button has no listed terms, so you learn what it allows only after you start.

Pricing
No free plan listed; Chat $24/mo billed annually ($29 monthly) for 5 seats, unlimited words

Best for: Small teams that want shared chat with unlimited words for five people

Pros

  • Chat covers five seats on yearly billing, about $4.80 a seat if all five are used
  • Chat includes access to OpenAI, Anthropic and Gemini models, per the pricing page

Cons

  • Unlimited words applies to Chat only, and the pricing page lists no workflow credits for it
  • Chat stops at five seats, and the next listed plan is Growth at $1,000 a month
7 Jasper logo

Jasper

The free step is a seven-day trial, and no word or credit allowance is stated, so the trial is the only test.

Pricing
No free plan; 7-day free trial, then Pro $59/seat/mo billed annually ($69 monthly)

Best for: Marketing teams that need brand voice controls and will pay per seat

Pros

  • Pro includes 2 Brand Voices, 5 Knowledge assets and 3 Audiences, according to the pricing page
  • Annual billing brings the seat price down from $69 to $59 a month

Cons

  • Pro is priced per seat, so a team of three pays for three seats
  • No word or credit allowance is stated, so the trial cannot show a monthly ceiling

What it is

A free AI writer is a tool that drafts or rewrites text with a language model at no cost, within a stated allowance. The allowance decides what the free plan can produce.

Claude has no fixed number on its free plan (see our Claude review), while Rytr, Grammarly and Wordtune each state one.

For a wider comparison of general assistants, see our best AI chatbots guide.

Why it matters

The length cap decides whether a free plan can produce a real article, and that matters more than the price, because the free step costs nothing either way.

A 1,500-word article is about 9,000 characters, which takes nearly all of Rytr's monthly cap.

Claude's free plan states no word count at all, so you cannot check the article size against it in advance.

If your writing is for school, see our guide to AI for writing essays before you rely on any free plan for coursework.

Key features to look for

Unit of measure
Rytr counts characters, Grammarly counts prompts, Wordtune counts rewrites a day, and Claude counts usage per rolling window. Convert every allowance to words before you compare them, and remember that six characters is roughly one word.
Session and daily resets
Claude's limit refills on a rolling five-hour window and Wordtune's rewrites refill each day. A daily or session cap rewards steady use and punishes one long push before a deadline.
Trials versus free plans
Writesonic, Copy.ai and Jasper publish trials rather than ongoing free plans. Writesonic says start free with no card and gives no length, Copy.ai's Try for free button has no listed terms, and Jasper's trial runs seven days. Note the end date the day you sign up.
Prompts and volume
Grammarly's 100 free prompts and 2,000 Pro prompts count requests, not output, so one prompt can return a sentence or a page. Only Rytr states a free text volume in characters, and the paid Copy.ai Chat plan states unlimited words.
Other trials
Simplified's trial gives full Starter access, which includes 100K AI words, with no trial length stated. Notion AI's free plan includes a limited trial with no number of responses stated, and its Business price appears only in euros on the page we read.

Pricing

Every price here was read on the vendor's own pricing page in October 2026, and every free allowance is the one that page states. For one person, Wordtune Advanced is the cheapest USD paid plan at $4.89 a month on yearly billing.

Rytr Unlimited comes next, and Claude Pro is $17 a month on yearly billing.

Copy.ai Chat is $24 a month on yearly billing for five seats, about $4.80 a seat only if all five are used.

Claude's plans are also covered in our Claude pricing guide.

Grammarly Pro and the Notion AI Business plan appear only in euros on the pages we read, so they are not ranked on price.

Notion is covered with its AI features in our note-taking apps guide.

Check Wordtune's pricing page, Rytr's, Claude's and Copy.ai's before you pay, because list prices move.

PlanPriceBest for
Claude FreeFreeWeb search, file creation and Artifacts; usage resets on a rolling five-hour window
Claude Pro, billed yearly$17/mo ($200 billed up front)At least 5x the usage per session of Free
Claude Pro, monthly$20/moSame Pro plan, paid month to month
Rytr FreeFree, no card needed10,000 characters a month, about 1,650 words
Rytr Unlimited, billed yearly$7.50/moNo monthly character cap on the yearly plan
Wordtune BasicFree10 rewrites and AI suggestions a day, 3 AI summarizations a month
Wordtune Advanced, billed yearly$4.89/moAdvanced tier; billed month to month at a higher rate
Grammarly FreeFree100 AI prompts a month
Grammarly Pro€12 (no USD price on the page)2,000 prompts per member a month, with a 7-day free trial
Writesonic Starter, billed annually$79/mo15 AI articles a month; free trial with no card, length not stated
Copy.ai Chat, billed annually$24/mo5 seats and unlimited words in Chat; $29 billed monthly
Jasper Pro, billed annually$59/seat/mo1 seat, no word or credit cap stated; 7-day trial on Creator or Pro
Mistakes to avoid
×Counting words when the free plan counts characters or prompts. Rytr's cap is a character count, and Grammarly's prompt cap says nothing about output length.
×Treating a trial as a free plan. Writesonic, Copy.ai and Jasper list trials, so the free step ends on a date you need to track.
×Budgeting a month on Claude's free plan. Its limit refills on a rolling window, so the allowance renews on a schedule that is not the calendar month.
×Judging a rewriter by its drafting ability. Wordtune's 10 rewrites a day edit text you already wrote, so a blank page still needs another tool.
Expert tips
→Measure the job before the tool. A 1,500-word article is about 9,000 characters, so one article may use nearly all of Rytr's free month.
→Store your best prompts in one document. On a prompt-capped plan like Grammarly's, re-typing the same brief spends the allowance twice.
→Recheck caps before you commit a client or a deadline to a free plan, because a pricing page can change between the day you read it and the day you need it.
→Use a trial on a real assignment. Jasper's seven days are enough to draft one piece, count the edits it needs, and decide whether a paid seat is worth it.

The bottom line

For a free plan you can keep, Claude gives the most drafting room, but it states no number, so plan around the five-hour window.

If you need a number to budget against, Rytr (Toolradar profile) gives a fixed monthly character cap, and Wordtune (Toolradar profile) gives 10 rewrites a day.

For the paid comparison, read our paid AI writing tools ranking.

If the draft will be checked afterwards, see our free AI detectors, and if the text becomes a spoken script, see our free AI voice generators guide.

Cite this: AIpresso, "Best Free AI Writers in 2026: Word Limits Compared", October 2026.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best free AI writer in 2026?

Claude has the most drafting room on a free plan, with no fixed message count. Rytr is the better pick if you need a fixed monthly number, since its cap is stated in characters. Both were checked on vendor pricing pages in October 2026.

Is there a free AI writer with no word limit?

No free plan here states an unlimited word allowance. Claude's free plan has no fixed message count but resets on a rolling five-hour window, and Rytr's Unlimited plan removes the character cap for $7.50 a month on yearly billing.

How many words is 10,000 characters?

About 1,650 words at roughly six characters a word. That is about four 400-word posts, or one 1,500-word article using nearly all of the month.

What is the cheapest paid step after a free AI writer?

For one person, Wordtune Advanced is the cheapest USD paid plan on yearly billing, though it is a rewriter. Among full writers, Rytr Unlimited is $7.50 a month on yearly billing, and Copy.ai Chat is $24 a month on yearly billing for five seats.

Does Writesonic or Copy.ai have a free plan?

Neither pricing page lists one. Writesonic offers a trial with no card needed and states no length, and Copy.ai shows a Try for free button without terms. Read the trial terms on the vendor's own page before you sign up.

Sources

Prices and plan details come from each vendor's own pricing page, re-checked by the Toolradar pricing tracker.

Related guides

Some offers on this page may be paid placements or contain affiliate links.

Get the AIpresso brief

Free daily newsletter, read in 5 minutes.

Subscribe free